Award Application Period


The Excellence in Community Service Award is given for outstanding community service by an individual who demonstrates a commitment to service to the community.

This commitment should be demonstrated through the development or participation in programs that go well beyond the traditional service role of their profession. The award highlights community service as an important element of the mission of nursing professionals and singles out individuals who serve as examples of social responsiveness on the part of the nursing community.

The award recipient must have a broad-based, continuing commitment to community service as reflected in a variety of programs and initiatives which are responsive to community and social needs and which show evidence of a true partnership with the community. This recipient may be active in volunteering service to local, national, geriatric, or specialty nursing groups which benefit the community in which they serve.

Examples of the types of programs appropriate for consideration include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Developing or being involved in innovative programs of patient care/service to disadvantaged communities or to the geriatric community.
  • Participating in educational programs targeted at traditionally underrepresented groups.
  • Leading efforts to focus community resources responding to health needs such as prevention and health education, patient care, and social and supportive services.
  • Providing educational experiences in under-served areas for nursing students to encourage eventual practice in such communities.
  • Developing programs to meet the needs of isolated communities, geriatric communities, or communities which have a large geriatric population.
  • Developing programs that use the unique assets and resources to address continuing educational, economic, and/or systemic community problems. 

Self-nominations are invited.

Applications are accepted March 1 through June 1 every year.

Applications are now open.

Apply for the Excellence in Community Service Award